Frisson Ensemble Members

Rachel Lee Priday, violin
Giancarlo Latta, violin
Chieh-Fan Yiu, viola
Patrick Hopkins, cello
Sam Suggs, bass
Tom Gallant, oboe

Photo credit: Dorothy Shi


Artistic director and oboist Tom Gallant, collaborating with classical music's best and brightest, presents an exciting evening of music for winds and strings.

Gioachino Rossini (1792-1868): String Sonata No. 4 in B flat major
Peter Lurye (b. 1956): Quartet for Oboe and Strings
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791): Quartet for Oboe and Strings in F major, K. 370
Domenico Dragonetti (1763-1846): Waltz No. 3 for Double Bass
Sam Suggs (b. 1990): Waltz-Variations
Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904): String Quintet No. 2 in G major, Op. 77


Frission features the best and brightest of classical music's stars! The group showcases emerging young artists as well as seasoned professionals and has skyrocketed to become one of the leading musical groups. Frission performs engaging programs for winds, piano trio, and piano quartet programs, as well as popular programs featuring music by such composers as Gershwin and Piazzolla. The ensemble performs in over 25 cities annually including appearances in such diverse venues as the Morgan Library and Museum in New York City, for the Da Camera Society in Los Angeles, and at the Bermuda Festival.

Frission comes from the French word meaning "a shiver or a thrill, a sudden feeling of excitement."